Plum Season

IMG_2733

 

I have several plum trees in my back yard. This is the first year since we moved here that we’ve actually had a plum crop. The wind usually knocks them all down before they have a chance to ripen. Harvesting them was funny because the wind had knocked a lot down and so I was picking them up off the ground when the wind came up and knocked the rest down on my head. It was like Newton on crack! Tons of plums were raining down on my head. I just stayed kneeling under the tree with my arms covering my head as I was bombarded with fruity projectiles. The cat thought it was hilarious.

This year we ended up with 61 lbs of plums.

IMG_2731

 

I sent the about 30 lbs with my friend Lisa to the Farmer’s Market and processed the rest.

IMG_2748  IMG_2749IMG_2777

 

 

I pitted and pureed the plums then cooked the pits with about a 1/2 cup of water to get the rest of the pulp off the pits. Then I cooked the plum puree 6 cups at a time.

6 cups of plums to 1/2 cup of water. Boiled down. I added spices to the mix and cooked the whole lot until they were a beautiful purple color.

IMG_2750

Spiced Plum Jam Recipe.

I didn’t really find this recipe. I kinda made it up as I went but I turned out like Christmas in a jar!

6 cups of cooked plum puree

a tablespoon (Approx) of butter to keep the foaming down

8 cups of sugar

1 pkg of Sure Jell

4 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cardamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp clove

1/2 tsp ginger

Bring puree with spices added to a boil, add butter, and Sure Jell. Bring to a Full Rolling Boil stirring constantly. Add sugar and return to full rolling boil. Boil exactly 1 minute (time will affect setting of jam) stir constantly. Remove from heat and ladle into hot sterilized jars. Skim off any foam. Seal and Process in a Hot water bath for time indicated for your altitude. (It’s on the Sure Jell instructions)

IMG_2751IMG_2779

The rest of the puree I added the above mentioned spices in proportion to every 6 cups of puree.  I measured out 2 cups per freezer bag to be kept for later use in things such as bread or fruit leather.

IMG_2785 IMG_2786 IMG_2787

I am looking forward to tasting that bread..mmmm……..

Leave a Reply

