Do people really live like that?

I was listening to the song “Up on the Ridge” by Dierks Bentley and it got me to thinking. Do people really live like that or is it just an image of a goal we wish we could achieve? Like the idea of a house with a white picket fence, two kids and a dog; is it merely a metaphor?
In the song he sings of having time to gaze at the stars and dance around a bonfire living and loving life. Well, I don’t know about you but my life is so damn busy I have to do ten things at once most days. I don’t have time to even watch a full length tv show or read a chapter in a book that isn’t a children’s bedtime story.
My husband says that there are people who live like in the songs but they don’t strive for a high quality of life. They just live for what makes them happy at the moment. I have a suspicion that the only people who can live that way are kids just out if school who haven’t yet taken in the responsibilities of family and careers.
I keep looking at my life and wondering how I could adjust my life so that I can actually take the time to enjoy the summer or even take a vacation. I don’t see it. Maybe I’m blind or just too ambitious. I have my job, my blog, my writing that I’m working on and that I’m trying to submit to publishers, the crafts I make to sell, fruit trees I have to keep up with, a yard that seems to be able to make anything grow to gargantuan size, building repairs, two kids with full summer schedules and a husband that travels for work and is gone 6 weeks at a time. I’m not sure what to cut.
I envy those people who have no goals in their lives. That are happy just being and seeing what happens next. I would love to have that little pressure in my life. Sadly, even though I envy them I will never be them. I can’t help myself. I must write. I must create. And I will not give less than my very best when it comes to my family. So I guess I will never be living “Up on the Ridge”.

One thought on “Do people really live like that?

  1. I have to agree with you on this. At 65 and retired, no kids at home and only myself to take care of, I never seem to have time to do all the things I wanted to do before I get too old or too feeble. However, My garden is like a mini jungle what with a good mixture of rain and sun but its become my little refuge and I enjoy every moment of digging, planting, weeding and getting dirty and sweaty. The birds are singing, the bees are buzzing, the butterflies are fluttering and my heart is singing. I have succeeded in turning a chore into a pleasure. My Church activities take up a good deal of my time, mainly serving others or simply washing dishes but I have time to fellowship and laugh with my workmates and close bonds are tied. I might be tired at the end of the day but it is a satisfying tired because I feel that I have used my time well. I never had time to myself when the kids were young because like you I was, or tried to be a good mum. Life is as you make it. We can look at the glass as half empty or half full and try to make the best of what life throws at us. Before you know it, Leah will be gone away to college, Frank will not always be working away from home and my Little Dude will grow and mature and be less demanding of you. You are still very young so plenty time to fulfil your dreams of becoming a successful author. Don’t let the worries of the future spoil today. We will never have this day again. As the Bible says “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it”. I dare you to go out and dance in your garden and sing out loud as you do your housework. Love you xx

Leave a Reply

